Space Bunny Alpha › Comparison with MiniMax M3
Space Bunny Alpha vs MiniMax M3: Evidence-Based Comparison
These are two different products, and the honest comparison is short: they are close on context window, they are far apart on price, and the thing that links them is tokenizer-family evidence rather than anything MiniMax has said. If you came here looking for a "MiniMax M3.1" comparison, that name has no official source — this page explains what can actually be compared and what cannot.
Last updated 25 September 2026 · Space Bunny Alpha released 23 September 2026, still unclaimed
How we label sources on this page
This comparison uses two listing sources and one independent source. TokenRA supplies the Space Bunny Alpha product details; OpenRouter supplies the separate gateway availability snapshot; the tokenizer evidence comes from a named third-party study. We do not treat those sources as interchangeable.
Space Bunny Alpha vs MiniMax M3: Side-by-Side Comparison
| Property | Space Bunny Alpha | MiniMax M3 |
|---|---|---|
| Model ID | space-bunny-alpha | minimax/minimax-m3 |
| Vendor | Anonymous, unclaimed | MiniMax (named, documented) |
| Context window | 1,000,000 tokens | 1,048,576 tokens |
| Max output | 524,288 tokens | See MiniMax's model card |
| Price | Free during preview | $0.23 / M input · $0.96 / M output · $0.05 / M cache read |
| Documentation | Listing only — no model card or paper | Published model card and blog |
| Stability | Codename may be retired or renamed without notice | Permanent model ID |
| Provider / gateway | Anonymous provider; TokenRA route topology not disclosed | Multiple routes available |
The table combines product facts from the TokenRA listing with MiniMax M3 information from its public listing and model page. The uptime and availability figures discussed below come from the separate OpenRouter listing snapshot; they are gateway metrics, not TokenRA specifications and not independent tests by this site.
Why Space Bunny Alpha Is Not MiniMax M3
There is a real, measurable link: an independent fingerprinting project found that a same-codename model matched the MiniMax tokenizer on 24 of 24 probes, and that its probe vector was identical to both minimax-m3 and minimax-m2.5 — which are themselves identical to each other.
That last detail is the one people skip, and it is the one that dissolves the comparison. If M3 and M2.5 produce an identical fingerprint, the fingerprint cannot distinguish between generations. MiniMax shares one tokenizer vocabulary across its line, so matching it tells you the family, not the version, and certainly not the product name. Two further caveats matter. The stealthprint case study tested a same-codename model served through OpenCode Go, not the space-bunny-alpha listing on TokenRA. The case study says the tested model was not listed on OpenRouter. It also scores Kimi at 13/24 and GLM at 7/24 — so it discriminates against other families even though it cannot separate generations within MiniMax's.
For the full evidence chain, including what would actually settle the question, see is Space Bunny Alpha MiniMax?
When Space Bunny Alpha Is a Useful Alternative to MiniMax M3
Set identity aside and a practical question remains, which is the one worth answering: if you are currently reaching for MiniMax M3, is this free anonymous model a reasonable stand-in for a few weeks?
- Context is a wash. 1M versus 1,048,576 tokens is a 4.6% difference — not a reason to choose either one.
- Cost is not a wash. Zero versus roughly a fifth of a cent per thousand input tokens. For a high-volume prototype, that gap is the entire argument.
- Reliability is not a wash either. M3 is a permanent, multi-route model. The OpenRouter listing snapshot observed on 25 September 2026 reported 99.76% uptime and 98.24% availability over three days, plus 98.57% OpenRouter availability over the last 24 hours. These are listing-reported gateway metrics, not independent measurements by this site. OpenRouter defines availability as successfully served inference and may use the next-best provider when an alternate route is available. That platform-level fallback does not prove anything about TokenRA's route: the TokenRA listing does not disclose whether it uses one provider or fallback providers. The OpenRouter percentage is therefore a gateway snapshot, while an upstream failure may still surface on another route.
- Documentation is not close. One has a model card; the other has a listing page. If you need to know how the model was trained or what its limits are, only one of these can tell you.
What this comparison can and cannot establish
A model ID, a product listing and a gateway health metric answer different questions. TokenRA's listing identifies the anonymous product users can call, while OpenRouter's snapshot describes what that gateway served during a particular window. Matching values across pages would not prove that the listings share an upstream provider, and different values would not prove that they serve different model weights. The safest conclusion is narrower: use TokenRA for the product facts, OpenRouter for its own operational snapshot, and independent studies for evidence that is explicitly tied to their tested route.
Why Space Bunny Alpha and MiniMax M3 Get Confused
It is worth stating plainly why the "M3.1" label spread. The evidence points at MiniMax, the model is new, and MiniMax's last named generation is M3 — so a new label gets invented to fill the gap. That is a reasonable guess presented as a fact, and the fingerprinting project never made it: its own phrasing was "post-M3 or an M3 refresh" at medium confidence.
There is also a naming trap on the other side. If this model is claimed by a vendor other than MiniMax, the tokenizer finding will look embarrassing to anyone who asserted the family as a fact. And if it is claimed by MiniMax itself, the model will get a real name — at which point "M3.1" was never the right label either. In both futures, the invented name is the wrong one.
Space Bunny Alpha vs MiniMax M3: Which Fits Your Use Case?
Choose Space Bunny Alpha for a short-lived prototype when zero pricing and a large context window matter more than a named provider, published evaluations or stable availability. Test the exact workload first, because the anonymous listing can change or disappear and the tokenizer link does not establish output quality.
Choose MiniMax M3 when you need documented model information, a named product and predictable pricing. Its published identity makes procurement and troubleshooting easier, even though it removes the cost advantage of the free preview. Check current vendor rates before budgeting either model.
Space Bunny Alpha vs MiniMax M3: FAQ
Is Space Bunny Alpha the same model as MiniMax M3?
No. Separate listings, separate model IDs, separate pricing. Space Bunny Alpha is offered free through the TokenRA listing, while the OpenRouter listing is a separate gateway source for operational metrics; neither listing alone proves that the two routes share the same upstream model. The tokenizer evidence identifies a family rather than a product.
Is there a MiniMax M3.1?
No official source uses that name. Searches for it return only MiniMax M3 material, and the analysis that first pointed at the MiniMax family described its inference as "post-M3 or an M3 refresh" at medium confidence.
How do the context windows compare?
Close enough to ignore: 1,000,000 tokens versus 1,048,576 — a 4.6% difference. Space Bunny Alpha lists a 524,288-token maximum output.
How does the pricing compare?
Space Bunny Alpha is free during its stealth preview; MiniMax M3 is priced at $0.23 per million input tokens and $0.96 per million output tokens, with $0.05 per million for cache reads. The free model costs nothing but can disappear at any time, and the TokenRA listing does not disclose its fallback topology.